The Crete Public Library subscribes to a number of quality electronic databases that cover a wide range of content for all ages and interests. Access to databases requires cardholders to enter their 14 digit Crete Public Library card number, and most databases can be accessed from home with this number. A few databases can only be accessed while at the library.

For certain databases, patrons from other libraries can request access to databases while in the library building but cannot access them from home.

For additional information or for questions on how to use our databases, please contact the Information Desk at 708-672-8017 or cpldas@cretelibrary.org. Library staff is happy to give patrons a brief tutorial as time allows. Appointments are welcome for more in-depth instruction.

Alphabetical

Academic Search Premier
For the serious researcher. Provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.

Ancestry.com (in-library use only)
Search for your ancestors, check U.S. Census Records, view Birth/Marriage/Death records, and more. Ancestry Library is the largest family history site online with over 4 billion names in worldwide historical records, family tree services, and genealogy learning materials.
* Ancestry.com is available for in-library use only.

AutoMate
Provides coverage of more than 37,000 domestic and imported vehicles from 1945 to present. Contains millions of drawings and step-by-step photographs. New repair procedures, TSBs, and updates are added on a regular basis.

Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center provides thousands of reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography Today and Biography, plus narrative biographies not available in other databases. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.

Business Source Premier
Articles, market research, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Consumer Health Complete
For the health-conscious consumer. Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.

Consumer Reports
1,000+ ratings, reviews, expert buying advice, product comparisons, consumer user reviews, and product video clips from ConsumerReports.org.

EBSCOhost
A list of all EBSCOhost offerings, including MasterFILE and Academic Search Premier.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is the optimal beginner’s Spanish language reference tool. The site offers World Book’s excellent editorial content, rich media, and engaging features in Spanish.

FamilySearch
FamilySearch maintains a collection of records, resources, and services designed to help people learn more about their family history. FamilySearch gathers, preserves, and shares genealogical records worldwide. It offers free access to its resources and services online.

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedia entries about various subjects.

HeritageQuest Online
Census data, family records, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage, and death records, etc. All documents include original page images.

History Reference Center
For high school and college students as well as the general public. Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books.

I-Share
I-Share is the online public catalog for the 86 CARLI member libraries, most of which are college and university libraries. Use I-Share to search for library materials in Illinois, especially when seeking academic works. See the Crete Public Library Information Desk staff for information on how to request I-Share items.

Illinois Public Records
Thousands of the most current Illinois public records on real estate transactions, foreclosures & auctions, bankruptcies, business licenses, and incorporations.

Legal Information Reference Center
Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.

Literary Reference Center Plus
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world

MasterFILE
Full text magazines, journals, and other highly-regarded sources from the world’s leading publishers, covering virtually every subject area of general interest.

Medline Plus
Abstracts of articles in medicine, dentistry, and nursing.

Middle Search Plus
For middle school students. Contains full text for more than 150 popular magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexile). Also contains biographies, photos, maps, and flags.

NoveList Plus
NoveList provides summaries and reviews for fiction and many nonfiction titles for adults, teens, and children, as well as reading recommendations and series lists. Try NoveList if you are wondering what to read next. Also includes “read-alike” lists, book discussion guides, and teaching materials for educators.

NoveList K-8
Provides summaries and reviews for fiction and nonfiction books for children through eighth grade, as well as book lists for children, award-winning titles, and books by grade-level or Lexile score.

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center
This full text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements, and techniques.

Points of View
Provides essays for students on more than 300 topics, presenting multiple sides of a current issue, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and critical thinking guide. Also offers guides to debates, developing arguments, and writing position papers.

Primary Search
Contains more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. Articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexile). Also contains the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary and thousands of photos, maps, and flags.

Regional Business News
Incorporates 50 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Science Reference Center
For the student doing scientific research. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Also provides teachers with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center
This reference database provides detailed yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. All of the content is organized in a powerful, easy-to-use manner so that users can quickly find the information they need

Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Contains full text for hundreds of reference books on a wide variety of subjects, including history, business, medicine, science, and humanities.

World Book
Online version of the popular World Book Encyclopedia. Find encyclopedia articles, primary source documents, ebooks, and multimedia resources in one search.

WorldCat Discovery
OCLC WorldCat Discovery is a free catalog that shows the holdings of more than 72,000 libraries worldwide. See the Crete Public Library Information Desk staff for information on how to request WorldCat Discovery items.

World Book Discovery
For middle school and high school students. Easy to read articles with a text-to-speech feature.

World Book Early Learner
Premier online resource for preschoolers and children in the early elementary grades. Developed with experts on early childhood education, Early World of Learning offers rich resources designed for easy integration into the classroom curriculum.

World Book Kids
For both pre-school and elementary school students. Easy-to-read articles along with engaging images, illustrations, interactive games, and activities.

World Book Student
Includes all the articles from the print version of the World Book Encyclopedia, plus thousands of additional articles, learning resources, and research tools.